About Me

I am a computer nerd who lives in the lovely city of Canterbury, in England. I like to play with old computers, write in strange programming languages, and occasionally put together vaguely useful programs. I’m also a bit of a doodler, and occasionally do the odd bit of photography, which you can find on my blog.

I'm also a Computer Science student at the University of Kent, and am currently on my final year. I am quite fond of working with low-level stuff, and experimenting with different programming languages.

On a rather unrelated note; I have a rare genetic condition that is both awful and rather awesome; which is Oculocutaneous Albinism. So, I have lovely white hair that is kinda pretty, and eyesight that squarely sticks me into the “legally blind” category.

Education

As mentioned above, I am a Computer Science student at the University of Kent. I am currently on my final year, with my research project focusing on incremental parsers (a type of parser that updates the parse tree based on the changes in the source file, rather than reparsing the entire file).

So far my degree has involved working with Java and Erlang, basic algorithms (shortest path tree, binary search, various sorting algorithms, etc), web development, databases, project management and software engineering, and the basic theory of computer architecture and operating system design.

This year I will be studying on how computer networks function, basic cryptography and computer security, embedded devices and the "Internet of Things", computer graphics and animation, and programming language design and implementation.

After completing my degree, I intend to remain at the University of Kent to do a doctorate. I will likely remain in the Programming Languages and Systems research group, possibly continuing with the research I have done as part of my final year project.

If you want a copy of my CV, please email me at aelitago-away-mr-spambot@styles.pm.

Interests and Hobbies

Computing

I quite enjoy playing with programming languages (be they old or new), and I like to challenge myself with writing meaningful programs in assembly. Currently, the languages I’ve worked with so far are, in order of preference; C, Go, Erlang, Netwide Assembler (x86), Python, Perl, Java, Bash, PHP, C++ and JavaScript.

I’ve also worked with AVR Assembler, Haskell and Scala before, however I wouldn’t say I’m proficient in any of them.

Photography

I occasionally do the odd bit of photography, most of which ends up being posted to my blog. I usually do landscapes or macro photography (usually of flowers), though I have been known to sometimes do a bit of street photography.

The camera I use is a Canon 700D, usually with a 50mm f/1.8 II lens. I have two other lenses; a 18mm-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II and a 55mm-200mm f/4.5-5.6 USM, although I’m planning on upgrading both of those. I’d quite like a 18mm-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, but I can’t really afford it at the moment.

Cartoons

I’m a massive fan of cartoons, particularly if it includes anthropomorphic animals, or is fairly progressive. I also prefer traditional art styles rather than CGI. My favourite cartoons at the moment are; My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Gravity Falls, Steven Universe, Bob’s Burgers and The Simpsons.

Contact Me

You can find me as AelitaStyles on GitHub and LinkedIn, SnowyBoop on Twitter, Reddit and Facebook, and Snowy on Keybase. Alternatively you can email me at aelitago-away-mr-spambot@styles.pm.